Hayek Lifetime Achievement Award 2023 – Sociology, economics and decades of commitment

Sociology, economics and decades of commitment

In 2023, the year of the 30th anniversary of the Friedrich A. v. Hayek Institute, two extraordinary personalities will be honored with the Hayek Lifetime Achievement Award. In the spirit of the Austrian School of Economics, both scholars take a holistic approach and always consider economic problems in the context of society, the state and geopolitics. Dr. Eamonn Butler and Prof. Erich Weede will be honored on November 27.

Prof. Erich Weede

Dr. Erich Weede is an emeritus professor of sociology. Weede first studied psychology before earning a Ph.D. in political science from Northwestern University in the U.S. and teaching at the University of Mannheim. Erich Weede has also taught at the Universities of Cologne and Bonn. His research interests include the Austrian School of “Rational Choice” and “Public Choice” theories, he is involved in peace research and publishes regularly. Prof. Weede is a member of the Mont Pelerin Society and the German Friedrich A. von Hayek Society.

Dr. Eamonn Butler

Dr. Eamonn Butler is co-founder and director of the Adam Smith Institute in London. He holds degrees in economics, philosophy and psychology and a PhD from the University of St. Andrews. Butler was a Research Associate in the US House of Representatives and taught philosophy at Hillsdale College in Michigan before returning to the UK. In his role as Director of the Adam Smith Institute, Butler is an influential voice in economic policy discourse and a sought-after political commentator in the UK’s major print media. He is the author of numerous works dealing not only with Adam Smith, but also with the teachings of economists and social thinkers such as Hayek, von Mises and Rand. Butler has written extensively on government spending and fiscal, social and health policy issues.

Swarovski Rising Stars for the awardees

The certificates for Dr. Butler and Prof. Weede were signed by the Honorary President of the Hayek Institute, Nobel Laureate Vernon Smith, among others, while Prof. Dr. Robert Holzmann, Governor of the Austrian National Bank and Keith Miles, Order of the British Empire, will give the laudatory speeches. Swarovski Rising Stars will be presented to commemorate and symbolize the outstanding achievements of the recipients.

The previous awardees

  • Emilio Pacheco (2022) in recognition of his exceptional leadership at Liberty Fund, his many years of scholarship and research, and his indefatigable dedication to the defense and promotion of liberty.

  • Veselin Vukotic (2021) for his tireless efforts and being a pioneer in promoting Austrian Economics during transition, his advancement of economic understanding and for raising the general level of economic education in Montenegro, the Balkans, and abroad.

  • Richard J Stephenson (2019) for his passionate support of cutting-edge research for therapies against cancer, giving hope to patients; his lifelong promotion and dedication to entrepreneurship and freedom.

  • Tom Woods (2019) for his warnings against excessive government intervention and the insights given in his bestseller “Meltdown”.

  • Gloria Álvarez (2018) for introducing a new generation to the classical liberal thinking and for promoting the cause of freedom and responsibility.

  • Richard W. Rahn (2018) for decades of tirelessly promoting sound economic policy and for sharing his wisdom with the global community of freedom-loving individuals.

  • Arthur Laffer (2016) in recognition of his lifetime contributions in his fight against high taxation.

  • Peter Thiel (2015) successful technology entrepreneur and philanthropist having demonstrated the innovative spirit that F.A. v. Hayek considered a precondition for human advancement.

  • Deirdre McCloskey (2014) in recognition of her rich and pugnacious publications and in defense of our moral values.

  • Dambisa Moyo (2013) in recognition of her prolific writings and courageous media presence not only in the US but worldwide.

  • Leonhard Liggio (2013) in recognition of his efforts to share the best of the great classical liberal synthesis to change the world for the better.

  • Niall Ferguson (2012) in recognition of his outstanding contributions in defense of individual liberty and economic freedom.

  • Mario Vargas Llosa (2011) in recognition of his writings on behalf of liberty. Based in Peru, he received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2010.


The views expressed on austriancenter.com are not necessarily those of the Austrian Economics Center.

Do you like the article?

We are glad you do! Please consider donating if you want to read more articles like this one.


Share this article!
Join our community and stay updated!